Casting On

Ok, so casting on..there seem to be a myriad of ways to do this.

How many do I use? erm, just the same old one that I was taught as a kid.

It’s the Cable Cast-On. Apparently, it should only be used for certain types of knitting but, I have always used it for everything.

Until a little while ago, I didn’t even know there was more than one way to cast-on..should I have known? Does that make me a bad knitter?

It would explain why my shawls are always tight along the cast-on edge…hmmm…

What does everybody else do? Do you stick with the one you know or do you use all the different ones depending on your project?

About claireejknits

Known most places on the web as Claireej but someone else has that user name already on WP, sigh. Slightly jealous LOL.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Casting On

  1. Elle says:

    I use the Twisted German cast-on for socks, and anything that needs a stretchy cast on. Otherwise I will just use a long-tail cast-on, unless it specifies in the pattern. My mum didn’t know there was anything other than the knitted cast-on until I taught her some others!

  2. AlpacaAddict says:

    I have mostly used the knit cast on, which is very similar to your cable cast on. Apparently my mother uses the cable cast on, so I “invented” the knit cast on myself.

    But now I have found out how to do the cable cast on properly, so I do use it.

    I know there are other methods – thumb, long tail, tubular, etc., but I stick to the one I know, unless it really doesn’t look good.

  3. Undercover Owl says:

    I like to use the backward loop method for pretty much everything.
    It’s not the way my Mum taught me(make a loop, knit into it & put the stitch on the needle, then knit into the new stitch, repeat.) It’s easy and quick and probably a bit lazy, but it works for me.
    I say use whatever method works for you. When/if you feel you need to learn a new technique for a particular project, go for it.

    • Aha, your Mum taught you the Cable Cast-On as did mine who learnt it from her Mum and so on back through the generations.

      I wonder if they even knew there were other ways to cast-on back then…
      I’m going to try the Backward Loop on some stash and see how it feels. I may even try a few of the different ones and see how they feel.

  4. ambermoggie says:

    knitted (cable) or if socks then stretchy cast on pushing stitch along a little to make gap before next one, or sometimes cast on double stitches then knit 2 tog on first row

  5. Kimberly says:

    I stick with the one I know. It’s a long tail cast on. I’m learning more though just to expand my knowledge.

  6. Rosanne Derrett says:

    Thumb cast on is the only one I’ve ever mastered and I don’t get a tight edge for some reason.

Leave a Reply

